NEWS NOTES ON SUSTAINABLE WATER RESOURCES  Webinars on Reservoir Sedimentation  CIRES and the Western Water Assessment sponsor a webin...

NEWS NOTES ON SUSTAINABLE WATER RESOURCES  Webinars on Reservoir Sedimentation  CIRES and the Western Water Assessment sponsor a webinar series on Reservoir Sedimentation and Sustainability.  The nation’s 90,000 dams and reservoirs constitute a critical component of the country’s infrastructure ensuring the stability of water and energy supplies and flood risk management. However, the reservoir storage capacity, essential to meeting these purposes, has been filling with sediment (clay, silt, sand, gravel, and cobble). The Subcommittee on Sedimentation’s National Reservoir Sedimentation and Sustainability Team presents on sustainable solutions to reservoir sediment management.  Thursday, March 22, 2018 Sedimentation Management for Multi-Purpose Reservoirs: A Federal Perspective Dr. Tim Randle, P.E. and Dr. Paul Boyd, P.E. 11:00 AM, MDT | 1:00 PM, EDT | 12:00 PM, CDT | 10:00 AM PDT  Thursday, April 26, 2018 Permitting for reservoir sediment management Dr. Rollin Hotchkiss, P.E.   Thursday, May 10, 2018 Reservoir sedimentation monitoring Dr. Greg Morris, P.E.   Thursday, May 24, 2018 Economics of Sustainable Reservoir Sediment Management Dr. George Annandale, P.E. and Dr. Rollin Hotchkiss, P.E.  To register for the webinars, go to:  https://cires.colorado.edu/events/sedimentation-management-multi-purpose-reservoirs-federal-perspective ; For more information, please contact:  Tim J. Randle, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE.Manager, Sedimentation and River Hydraulics GroupU.S. Bureau of ReclamationP.O. Box 25007 (mail code:  86-68240)Denver, Colorado  80225303-445-2557    This information will also be linked on the 2018 Actions and Activities Page of the Sustainable Water Resources Site at https://sites.google.com/site/sustainablewaterresources/ ">https://sites.google.com/site/sustainablewaterresources/ ; Tim SmithSustainable Water Resources CoordinatorGovernment Web Site, https://acwi.gov/Sustainable Water Resources Site, https://sites.google.com/site/sustainablewaterresources/ ">https://sites.google.com/site/sustainablewaterresources/ ;